JUNE 8, 2020-9:30 Am VIA ZOOM

1-IATO President, Mike Stanley called the meeting to order at 9:30 am.

Present at the meeting were Mike Stanley, Mark Tigges, Bill Neal, Jim Nichols, Josh Rasmusen, Rollie Wiebers, Clarence Dawson, Kevin Long, Randy Baker, Timm Lamb, Ray Wilden, Tim Sanderson and Chuck Liston.

2-Jared Chizek(IHSAA) & Gary Ross(IHSAU) updated the IATO on Track and Field/Cross Country.

Both organizations met twice with Track Advisory Comm., coaches and administrators. The first meeting was in response to the Covid-19 Virus and its effect on the spring track season and State meet. The spring season was moved back in attempt to have a spring track season. Hosting State meet at Drake Stadium was the first option but if Drake Stadium wasn't available then another option might have been to have State meet at various sites. A tentative schedule was set up as well.

A second meeting with Track Advisory Comm. centered around the track season calendar for 2021. The 2021 season will begin with practice on March 1st, 2021. One non-traditional track maybe held in per high school but times will not be used to qualify for Drake Relays. One scrimmage per school is going to be allowed. *It should be noted that the High School Track Coaches association is going to ask for 10 days of practice in Feb. (At this time that request hasn't been acted on).

An order of events for Indoor high school meets is going to be recommended for the 2021 indoor track season.

There will be no rule changes for the upcoming cross country and track seasons as stated by the NFHS. Jared Chizek (IHSAA) will be serving on the NFHS rules comm. for the next few years. Both the IHSAA and IGHSAU are working on the upcoming cross country season and what it might look like.

3-Approved the Dec. 7th, 2019 minutes. MM-Timm Lamb SM-Clarence Dawson

4-Membership Report-IATO has four new members since the clinic. Jan Lehman-Grenko (I.C.), Steve DeSerano (Cedar Falls), Paul Lorber (New London) and Brian Witzenburg (Fairfield) Three members will be dropped from the IATO membership list as they haven't updated their membership for the past two years. Two IATO members have retired. Bill Yiesley (Cedar Rapids)-39 years and Ray Gaul (Ogden)-53 years. We thank both of these individuals for their years of service to Track & Field and Cross Country.

5-Treassurers Report-Currently the IATO has a checking balance of \$10,367.56 MM-Timm Lamb SM-Clarence Dawson

6-Old Business:

*IATO windbreaker-Chuck Liston was in charge of the IATO windbreaker project. All members received an IATO windbreaker. This was done to celebrate the 20th anniversary of the IATO.

*IATO shells-Tim Sanderson reported that we have both .32 blanks and .22 blanks ordered for the 2021 track and field season. They will be available to order at the clinic.

7-New Business:

*Honorary Members-IATO recommended Ray Gaul to become Honorary Member.

MM-Tim Sanderson SM-Jim Nichols

*Track and Field Advisory Meeting-Mark Tigges, IATO representative gave updates. The first was that the 2020 track season was to start on May 1 due to the Covid-19 virus. Schools were to determine how many meets they would participate in with the shortened season. Season would consist of a few regular season meets, SQM and State Meet to be held at Drake Stadium. If Drake Stadium wasn't available then another option might have been to have State meet at various sites. A tentative schedule was set up as well.

- *Officials Advisory Meeting-Bill Neal, IATO representative gave updates. Discussion consisted of four major issues.
- * How to retain the officials that we have
- *Who sets the fees(schools, conference, officials)
- *Virus protocol for officiating-guidelines coming from State organizations
- *Dragon Fly-possible new on line officials program
- *Future meeting dates: Fall meeting-Nov. 8-Central lowa-TBD Spring meeting-June 6-I.C. West
- *IATO Dues-A raise in dues for IATO members in the future. Two options will be made available. (1 year-\$25 or 2 years-\$40) MM-Timm Lamb SM-Josh Rasmussen
- *IATO Clinic/Hall of Fame Banquet-Tentative date is Dec. 5th, 2020. Championship Books will be giving out more information in the future. Cost \$35-Pre-registered \$40 at door

*Hall of Fame: Carolyn Hill (WDM), Jon Turner (DM), John Wolff (Urbandale)

MM-Timm Lamb SM-Jim Nichols

*John Lowry Award: Denny White (Mt. Pleasant)

MM-Timm Lamb SM-Jim Nichols

*Official Awards-No other official awards will be presented in 2020 due to having no season.

8-Adjourn meeting by IATO President, Mike Stanley at 10:40 am MM-Timm Lamb SM-Tim Sanderson