## IATO BOARD MEETING

## JUNE 5, 2022 – 9:30 am Iowa City West H.S., 2901 Melrose Ave, Iowa City, IA

Call Meeting to Order: Mike Stanley, IATO President called the meeting to order at 9:30 am.

Introduction of Board Members: Jim Nichols (NW), Curt Anderson (NW), Josh Rasmussen (SW), Rollie Wiebers (SW), Terry Fischer (NE), John Zietlow (NE), Larry Parker (C), Randy Baker (C), Randy Wilson (SE), Timm Lamb (SE), Fran Long (at Large), Jeff Cook (at Large).

Recognized: Mark Tigges-Vice President Bill Neal-Sec. / Treasurer Committee Chairs present: Tim Sanderson, Chuck Liston.

Approval of Previous Minutes: MM: Timm Lamb SM: Chuck Liston \*Correction-Steve Rutz-50 Yrs. was added to the 2022 list.

Membership Update-Membership drive has been completed for 2022 by Bill Neal, IATO Sec. / Treasurer. The IATO has 143 paid members.

<u>*New Members-(2022)</u>	* <u>Members Not Renewing</u> -3
Eric Green-Norwalk	
Jerry Hartman-Creston	* <u>Retiring IATO Members</u>
Michael Joensen-Ankeny	<b>Dwaine Gooding-Burlington</b>
John Mathias-Iowa City	<b>Chuck Liston-Marion</b>
Dana Nelson-Sioux Falls, SD	Tim Sanderson-Brooklyn
	Denny White-Mt. Pleasant

\*Honorary Members-45+ years of service to IATO and now retiring. Dwaine Gooding, Chuck Liston and Tim Sanderson MM-Jim Nichols SM: John Zietlow

Treasurer's Report-Bill Neal \$5,619.73 All bills are paid as of today. MM-John Zietlow SM: Mark Tigges

## **Old Business**

- 1) 32/22 Blank Inventory-Tim Sanderson reported that he is attempting to get .32 winchester blank shells for the clinic. Our order is backordered at the present time and it takes longer to get our supply of shells. We will have .32 winchester blank shells, .22 winchester blank shells, as well as the .22 long blanks at the clinic to pick up.
- 2) Volunteer Certificates-Will be available at the December clinic for attendees to pick up. These can be used by IATO members to help recognize a volunteers that we work with at various track & field meets.
- 3) State Officials Advisory Committee-Bill Neal reported that the IGHSAU and IHSAA are looking at increasing official fees for various sports in the upcoming year. Track will be one of the sports being considered along with a few others. Obviously, they can't do every sport next year. Recruitment of officials is still a top priority. Invite others that you know !

- 4) Track & Field Advisory Committee-Mark Tigges reported that they will have a meeting coming up in late June. They have discussed two starters at the 4A/3A SQM last year but feel at this time it will probably remain at one starter. Several concerns will be addressed at the meeting.
- 5) Cross Country Advisory Committee Report-Bill Neal reported that the Joint Cross Country Advisory Comm. suggested that there be a different format at State Cross Country. A proposed schedule was presented to the IGHSAU and IHSAA boards who must approve the 2022 Fall State Cross Country meet schedule. (Both boards felt classes need to rotate times to help balance the loss of school/work time for athletes, coaches and others that would like to support the runners and hotel expense for participating schools. Thus, classes will rotate at the State meet. SQM will stay the same as they have been with 4A/3A on Wednesday and 2A/1A on Thursday. State will release a new schedule upon approval by the Board of Control.

## New Business

1) 2022 SQM and State Track & Field Review-Jared Chizek & Gary Ross \*Dragonfly is still a work in progress. More items will be added to Dragonfly in the future

that will hopefully make it easier to navigate. If you have Dragonfly issues please contact: Ben Van Wyk-IGHSAU or Whitney Schlicht-IHSAA Both are the direct contacts for the two associations if you have issues with Dragonfy.

\*Will have a wheelchair athlete at the 2022 State Cross Country meet. That individual will have a separate race from the runners. He has competed in the past two State JH Cross Country meets sponsored by the Iowa Association of Track Coaches.

\*SQM hosts <u>must</u> follow the SQM progressions for the High Jump. Two sites failed to follow the correct progressions. The State has the info in the SQM manual for all hosts, coaches and officials to follow. If you start a SQM be sure to review with High Jump official before meet.

\*Exchange zone issues in the 4 x 400 & 4 x 800 relays. State will work to clarify the role of incoming and outgoing runners in the exchange zone. Also, the State will review the placement of officials, marshals around the common exchange zone for State meet.

\*State will review the placement of the Distance Medley Relay on State meet schedule.

- 2) Officials Clinic & Hall of Fame Banquet-2022-Saturday, Dec. 3<sup>rd</sup>, 2022. More info this fall.
- **3)** Clinic Favors-The IATO will have a stocking cap with IATO logo embroidered on it for those who attend the clinic.
- 4) <u>Hall of Fame</u>-The following individuals will be inducted into the IATO Hall of Fame for 2022: Jay Gruenwald-Williamsburg, Cindy Nelson-Urbandale, Ron Werling-Indianola Congrats to all three individuals as they have all contributed so much to track & field for the athletes and coaches in the State of Iowa. Hall of Fame banquet will be Sat., Dec. 3<sup>rd</sup>, 2022 at the Gateway Convention Center in Ames, Iowa at noon.
- 5) <u>Lowry-Wassink Distinguish Award-Terry Thompson-Ames</u> Terry has been a past IATO President, presenter at IATO clinics, Drake Relays starter, State Cross Country Starter, Meet Referee for State Track & Field meet among a long list of accomplishments. Terry will be honored at the Hall of Fame banquet.

6) IATO Awards for 2022: All will be recognized at the IATO Hall of Fame Banquet.

High School Starters of the Year-Boys-Mike Dick-Urbandale Girls-Tim Thomas-Ames Junior High Stater of the Year-Mike Gruver-Pella Field Event Official of the Year-Dave Tapps-Van Meter Track Official of the Year-Bill Pinckney-Cedar Rapids Regional Starters of the Year-NW-Dale Pash-Onawa NE-Clarence Dawson-Waverly Central-Adam Tjeerdsma-Grimes SW-Gary O'Daniels-Creston SE-Bob Bowen-Burlington

- 7) 25 & 50 Year Officials for 2023-Will be honored at the 2023 State Track & Field meet on Saturday, May 20, 2023. More details to follow later next Spring.
  25 Year Award-Jason Cowley (Sioux City), Carolyn Hill (W.D.M), Don Olson (Story City)
  50 Year Award-David Anderson (Boone), Carl Cochran (Minden), Mike Dick (Urbandale), Stan Kirchhoff (Newton), David Lee (Conrad), James Patterson (Cedar Rapids)
- 8) Cross Country Official of the Year-Terry Fischer (2022)
- 9) Guns for Sale-Any officials who have .32 or .22 Starters pistols for sale contact Bill Neal. We have Starters needing a good back up starting pistol.
- 10) Misc.

\*IATO will be voting for the office of Vice President at the clinic in Ames this December. Mike Stanley, current IATO President will be completing his term in office at the clinic. He has served the IATO twice in the office of IATO President. Mark Tigges will be the new IATO President having serve as Vice President over the past three years.

\*We will be presenting a "Friend of Track & Field" to Rick Kuhlman at the Hall of Fame banquet.

Adjournment: MM-Chuck Liston SM-Jim Nichols Time-11:40 am

Notes recorded by Bill Neal, IATO Sec. / Treasurer