IATO BOARD MEETING

JUNE 4, 2023 – 9:30 am Iowa City West H.S., 2901 Melrose Ave, Iowa City, IA

Meeting was called to order by Mark Tigges, IATO President at 9:30 am.

Board Members present were: Jim Nichols (NW), Terry Fischer (NE), John Zietlow (NW), Randy Baker (C), Randy Wilson (SE), Timm Lamb (SE) and Jeff Cook (at Large).

Recognized: Mark Tigges-President, Jim Nichols-Vice President, Bill Neal-Sec. / Treasurer, Past President Mike Stanley and Committee member Tim Sanderson.

Approval of Previous Minutes: Dec. 4, 2022 MM: Timm Lamb SM: John Zietlow

Membership update was given by Bill Neal.

New Members: (Since clinic—9) Members Not Renewing (8)

Lonnie Dafney-W. Des Moines

Brad Heitland-Algona Ben Heitland-Postville

Shane Kalous-Esterville <u>Retiring Members: (1)</u>

Chris Marzen-Grimes Mike Ringo-Mason City

Mike Shaw-Davenport <u>Honorary Memberrs: None</u>

Shaun Stern-Waterloo Doug Varley-Dubuque

All members not renewing have been contacted by email and a mailing.

<u>Treasurer's Report:</u> Checking Balance of \$21,398.18 MM: Jeff Cook SM: Timm Lamb This is a larger balance than we usually have at this time since no shells have been purchase.

Old Business:

*Track & Field Advisory Committee-Mark Tigges informed the IATO Board that this meeting will take place next week in Boone. The IATO Board gave Mark several ideas to take to this meeting. (Length and size of regular season meets, Wheelchair concerns, implements not being weighed during the season, 45 minute break at SQM-to long, waterfall starts in distance races at State meet. Also, the Starters pay at SQM was discussed.

*Cross Country Advisory Committee-Bill Neal informed the IATO Board that the State Cross Country meet format will change in 2023. Friday-4A/1A, Saturday-2A/3A. This allows all schools to share the burden of school days missed and hotel expenses. The State Cross Country meet will remain a two day meet.

*32/22 Blank Inventory-Tim Sanderson reported to the IATO Board that we have 400 boxes of Winchester blanks on backorder. Our vendor isn't sure when .32 blanks will arrive but hopefully prior to the clinic. We will be selling .22 Winchester & .32 Winchester blanks at the clinic if they are available.

- *Volunteer Certificates-Tim Sanderson distributed 50 Volunteer certificates for IATO members to pick up at the clinic in December. These can be given out at the local high school meets in the Spring.
- *State Officials Advisory Committee-Bill Neal gave a brief report on how the IGHSAU & IHSAA are working on increasing officials pay at SQM and the State meet. The various sport seasons will see an increase over the next few years. A brief discussion on how the State uses high school recommendations for State Meet officials. Last year only 20 percent of the High Schools filled out the on-line form. Next year Whitney Schlicht (IHSAA) will contact member schools about getting their Official recommendations back into the State for all sports. This should improve the percentage of schools filling out the form.
- *IATO By-Laws Revisions-IATO Board members Mark Tigges, John Zietlow, Jim Nichols and Bill Neal reviewed the current IATO By-Laws and made recommendations for changes. The new By-Laws will be presented to IATO members for approval at the IATO Officials Clinic in December. The By-Laws were created in 2000, revised in 2012 and again in 2023.

MM: Jeff Cook SM: Jim Nichols

New Business:

- 1-2023 SQM and State Track & Field Review-Jared Chizek (IHSAA) and Madison Melchert (IGHSAU)
- *Very few weather concerns for SQM and the State meet this year. Things went very well.
- *Concerns over the Drake facilities in regards to warm up areas. This will be worked on in the off season. The infield wasn't available for warm up as requested by Drake University.
- *Lack of Implements being weighed in at local meets. To many implements at SQM and State not legal.
- *Discussion of the 45 minute break at SQM-Purpose is to get field events completed before we get into the major part of the running events.
- *Discussion of Medical sleeves-Must be solid color to be legal.
- *Pay at SQM and State meet will be addressed for 2024 meet.
- *Wheelchair concerns-To DQ or not DQ.
- *Discussion of Para-athletes in the future of track and field.
- *Electronic devices are being used in some states across the country. Mostly in states where there have been school shootings. We will continue to use closed barrel starter pistols with blanks for lowa meets.
- 2-Officals Hall of Fame Banquet-Saturday, Dec. 2, 2023. Save this date on your calendar.
- 3-Clinic Favor- IATO Clipboard will be the clinic favor for 2023.
- 4-Clinic Speakers and Topics- Jim Nichols, Vice President informed the IATO Board that he is working on clinic speakers for 2023. Topics will include Safety in the Throws, Pre-Meet duties for Officials and Gun Safety. More information will be sent out to all IATO members this fall prior to the clinic.
- 5-25 & 50 Year Official Awards for 2024 will be presented at the Iowa High School Co-Ed State Track & Field meet at Drake Stadium next May.

25 year Official Service Awards:

Nick Gaul-Sergent Bluff Chet Reinking-Ireton Greg Yoko-Dubuque

50 year Official Service Awards:

Scott Gonzales	Guthrie Center	53 years
Timm Lamb	Ft. Madison	52 years
Paul Lorber	New London	53 years
Dale Sandquist	Urbandale	53 years
Joe Toot	Nevada	54 years
Robert Witzenburg	Fairfield	54 years
Ron Werling	Indianola	51 years

6-IATO Award Selection

Boys Starter-Mark Tigges (Clive) Girls Starter-Kevin Long (La Porte City)

*Regional Starters of the Year NW-Dan Kruse-Rock Rapids NE-Rick Hall-Waverly Central-Tim Bell-Marshalltown SW-David Huff-Nodaway SE-Kevin Pederson-Oskaloosa

7-IATO Starters for IATC events-Bill Neal reported to the IATO Board that the IATO provides Starters for the various Iowa Association of Track Coaches events held throughout the year.

IATC-Outdoor Track Meet/Pentathlon (2 starters, 1 clerk)
IATC-Mike Henderson Middle School Track Meet (7 starter/clerks)
IATC-Indoor Track Meet (4 starters, clerks, referees, Field event, Umpires)
IATC-Washburn Middle School XC Meet (1 starter)
IATC-Senior All-Star XC Meet (1 starter)

^{*}Hall of Fame Award-Marv Allen (Urbandale), Bill Neal (Iowa City), Randy Wilson (Knoxville)

^{*}Lowry-Wassink Distinguished Award-Randy Baker (LeGrand)

^{*}High School Starters of the Year:

^{*}Junior High Starter of the Year-Josh Hidebrand (Iowa City)

^{*}Field Event Official of the Year-Steve DeSerano (Cedar Falls)

^{*}Track Official of the Year-Ray Armel (West Union)

^{*}Cross Country Starter of the Year (vote in fall)

^{*}Friend of Track-Fran Long-Ft. Dodge

8-Misc-Discussion-Mark Tigges led a discussion of various track topics from the past season.

- *Throw Relays-Have gotten better. Must use a legal baton only.
- *Length & Size of High School & Junior High meets-The size of some meets have gotten very large with 20-32 teams in attendance.
- *Wheel Chair Commands & DQ's
- *Weigh In scale at local meets
- *Track & Field test on line
- *Non-traditional track meets
- *30 meter exchange one
- *800-1T at 3A/4A meets and waterfall starts. Need to spread out runners if use waterfall starts. Placing the fastest runners in outer waterfall.

Mark Tigges, IATO President closed the meeting by banging the gavel at 11:41 am. MM-Terry Fischer SM: John Zietlow

Submitted by Bill Neal IATO Sec. / Treasurer